image009Dr. Akiça Bahri, Director – Africa, was selected as the 2009 recipient of the Prof. C.N.R. Rao Prize for Scientific Research. This prize was instituted in 2006 to honor distinguished scientists from Africa and the Least Developing Countries, who have made outstanding contributions to science and technology. The prize was awarded to her in Durban, South Africa, on the occasion of the TWAS 20th General Meeting and 11th General Conference held from the 20th to 23rd October 2009.

image010Dr. David Molden, Deputy Director General-Research at IWMI, was awarded the 2009 International Society of Paddy and Water Environment Engineering (PAWEES) Award. The PAWEES International Award recognizes individuals who have made significant academic, service or research contributions in the field of paddy and water environment engineering. The award was bestowed at the PAWEES award ceremony on October 7 th 2009, in IBP (Institut Pertanian Bogor – Bogor Agricultural University) International Center, Bogor City, Indonesia.
Read more…