image013IWMI Researcher and Theme Leader, Felix Amerasinghe, was named one of the “Outstanding Scientists of the 21st century” for his work on malaria, by the international Biographical Center, Cambridge, U.K.

image014Abdul B. Kamara of the IWMI East Africa received the Josef G. Knoll Science Award for his dissertation“Property Rights Risks and Livestock Development in Southern Ethiopia”.

image015Nitish Jha of the IWMI South Africa office received the “Harold K. Schneider Prize” from the Society for Economic Anthropology for his dissertation, “Research on Gender and Decision making in Balinese Agriculture”.

image016Marna De Lange, Researcher at the IWMI South Africa office won the “Dr. Hassam Ismail Memorial International Award” for her work in water management in agriculture. She also won the “Women in Water Award” from the Government of South Africa, in recognition of her work

image017Eline Boelee, IWMI Researcher won the “ICID Award for Excellence” in organizing a special session on Malaria and Agriculture



Tushaar Shah won the “CGIAR Outstanding Scientist of the Year” award for his work on improving water policy, particularly in the sustainable management and use of groundwater resources.